Do you want your business to appear in Section
1-10 of the Norfolk City Code? Fill out
THIS FORM and email
back to us, or fax to 844-2160.
Investigative reports are not released without a subpoena. You
may call the Madison County Attorneys office 402-454-3311, or the
Norfolk City Attorneys office 402-844-2130 reference prosecution of
Accident Reports :
You may obtain a copy of an accident report from the Police
Division at 202 N. 7th St., between the hours of 8:00a.m. and
5:00p.m., Monday-Friday. Cost for the report is $3 if picked up, $4
by mail. *Every operator of a motor vehicle involved in an accident
resulting in either injury, death, or damages over $1000.00 to the
property must complete a State accident form.* State report forms
are available from the Norfolk Police Division. Available during
regular office hours.
Forms can be picked up at the Norfolk Police Department at 202 N.
Street between the hours of 8:00a.m. - 5:00p.m. You can also
print them out from the DMV website. Forms need to be
signed by your physician and brought back to City Clerks office.
There is no charge for the permits.
Criminal History Checks:
You may obtain a local criminal history check on someone for
$5.00. This will only provide you with adult arrest and citation
information from the Norfolk Police Division. It will be necessary
to have the person’s full name and date of birth.
Bicycles must be licensed with the City
Clerk, 309 N. 5th St.,
Norfolk, NE. License fees are $2.00 and the term of the license
shall be for a period of 2 years.
Individuals needing fingerprinted for miscellaneous reasons, may
do so at the Police Division for a fee of $10.00. Available during
regular office hours, please call 402-844-2140 before coming in.
Vehicles towed by Norfolk Police Officers may be claimed
8a.m.-5p.m daily. Vehicles will be released only to registered
owners who provide photo identification. A towing fee will be
assessed as well as $25.00 for 1st day of storage, and $5.00 for
every day there after.. Those claiming vehicles will then be
directed to the City’s impound lot, where an officer will meet you
to release the vehicle.
****Note**** If your vehicle was
impounded due to a DUS (Driving under Suspension) and the reason for
your suspension was alcohol related such as DWI, your vehicle will
be impounded for 10 days. Towing fees and storage will be accessed.
Residents of the City of Norfolk are able to apply for gun
permits that are necessary for the purchase of handguns in the State
of Nebraska. Applicants must show valid Nebraska Identification,
complete an application form and pay a $5.00 fee for a national
Criminal history check. Applicant must have no prior felony arrest
convictions, prior hospitalization for mental health reasons or
domestic assault issues. Successful applicants will receive a permit
or be advised for reason of denial within 48 hours. Available
between regular office hours.
The Norfolk City Attorney’s Office offers the STOP Program, which
allows for the dismissal of a traffic citations issued by a Norfolk
Police Officer for certain specified offenses. Questions about which
offenses are applicable can be directed to the Norfolk City
Attorney’s Office at 402-644-8732. To Enroll: Call the Nebraska Safety
Council, Inc. at 402-483-2511 between hours of 8:30a.m.- 4:30p.m.
Any adult or juvenile 14 years of age or older with permission of
parent can fill out a form to ride-a-long with an officer on patrol.
Forms can be picked up from either the records or dispatch windows
at the Police Division, or click on the appropriate form:
Adult ride along form,
Juvenile ride along form. You may bring completed form to the Police Division.
Forms for Sales permits may be obtained at the Norfolk Police
Division, Mon-Fri 8:00a.m. - 5:00p.m. Fill out applications and take
to City Offices 309 N. 5th St., where fees are paid.